Home 

Private access

Why develop a preventiv vaccine against HIV?

The development of a preventive vaccine against HIV represents the best solution for controlling and eradicating the HIV pandemic:

  • Worldwide, over 35 million people are currently infected with HIV, and 2.3 million new cases are reported annually. Less than half of the people living with HIV have access to antiretroviral treatments.
  • In France, there are 150,000 infected people—nearly 40,000 of whom are unaware of their status, and continue to spread the epidemic—and 6,100 new cases each year.
  • Other preventive strategies exist (use of condoms, PrEP: pre-exposure prophylaxis with antiretrovirals); however, the medical/scientific community agrees that only a combination of these strategies with a preventive vaccine will make it possible to control the growth of the epidemic of HIV infection

Who may participate in a clinical trial of a preventive vaccine against HIV?

The conditions for participation in these trials are as follows:

  • Age between 21 and 50 years.
  • Not infected with HIV and at low risk of infection.
  • In good health.
  • Using effective contraception (condom) throughout the trial.
  • Not pregnant during the trial, or in the 4 months following the last vaccination.
  • Living close to one of the centres participating in the trial.
  • Affiliated to or a beneficiary of the social security system.
  • Available throughout the period of the trial

What types of clinical trials on preventive vaccines against HIV are currently being conducted by the VRI?

The trials currently being developed by the VRI are phase I and II clinical trials.

Development of a vaccine requires, after testing in animals to ensure the absence of toxicity, the establishment of 3 successive phases

  • Phase I. At this stage, trials are conducted with a limited number of subjects under strict medical supervision. The vaccine is tested over a short period. The objective is to evaluate its safety of use, its fate in the body, and adverse effects.
  • Phase II. Trials are conducted on a larger number of subjects. These trials are usually comparative: one of the two volunteer groups is given the vaccine whereas the other is given a placebo. They are aimed at obtaining data on safety of use for a larger number of subjects, and studying the immunogenicity (induction of an adaptive immune response) of the vaccine. Currently, these phase II trials generally involve testing vaccine combinations of several vaccine candidates.
  • Phase III. Trials are conducted on large volunteer populations, to allow measurement of the efficacy of the vaccine, i.e. its impact on the occurrence of infections. These trials are conducted in at-risk populations. Vaccine candidates previously compared with placebo will in future have to be compared with strategies with demonstrated efficacy (particularly PrEP).

How does a clinical trial of a preventive vaccine against HIV proceed?

  • The period of participation of each volunteer generally varies from 6 months to 1 year following enrolment. The volunteers are randomly assigned to the different groups corresponding to the various vaccine combinations being evaluated.
  • A number of visits are arranged for each volunteer, depending on the vaccine combination. Generally, 8-10 visits are required, each lasting 1-3 hours.
  • The 1st medical visit (known as the pre-inclusion visit) takes place 4 weeks before the start of vaccination. It includes questions on the sexual life of the volunteers as well as a full clinical examination and biological tests (on blood and urine samples), to ensure that each volunteer is in good health and does not present a substantial risk of contracting the virus through his/her sexual practices.
  • Blood samples, anonymously numbered, are taken and frozen to constitute a biobank. They are used to confirm certain biological data, and for the performance of additional tests in the context of the trial. They may also be used, with the consent of the volunteers, for research on the design of vaccines against HIV, Hepatitis C and emerging infectious diseases.
  • The overall results are generally known 6 months after the end of the trial, and are sent to the volunteers as soon as they are known.
  • Enrolment in a vaccine trial : Each volunteer may discontinue his/her participation in a HIV vaccine trial at any time, without giving any reason. Since the numbers in volunteer groups in phase I and phase II clinical trials are quite small, their withdrawal may compromise or seriously complicate the interpretation of the results of the trial as a whole. It is therefore better for individuals not to enrol if they do not think they can participate until the end.
  • Is compensation provided? Compensation is generally provided for each visit, in order to compensate for the time devoted to the trial.

How are health and safety problems managed during the clinical trials?

affiche avancer la recherche vih
Informations & registration :
www.recherche-vaccinVIH.fr

VRI and ANRS take every precaution to ensure that volunteers are kept healthy, safe and informed throughout the vaccine clinical trials

  • There is no risk of becoming infected by HIV: only synthetically manufactured proteins or protein fragments are used in the various vaccines being tested; it is impossible for these proteins to lead to HIV infection.
  • The trial guarantees maximum safety, having obtained all regulatory authorisations and the approval of the ethical review committees.
  • Each volunteer is individually monitored by a trial physician (known as a investigating doctor). S/he may be contacted at any time for any question regarding the volunteer's health. His/her contact details is given to all volunteers individually at their pre-inclusion visit at the vaccination centre
  • As with most vaccinations, the vaccines tested may cause short-term skin reactions at the injection site (redness, swelling, hardening of the skin, itching, pain, etc.) or some transient general symptoms (fever, fatigue, headaches, muscular and/or joint pain, etc.).

 

rondbleu

Home 

Accès privé

Pourquoi développer aujourd'hui un vaccin préventif contre le VIH ?

L’élaboration d’un vaccin préventif anti-VIH, représente la meilleure solution pour contrôler et éradiquer l’épidémie d’infections par le VIH :

  • Dans le monde, plus de 35 millions de personnes sont actuellement infectées par le virus VIH, et on déplore 2,3 millions de nouveaux cas par an. Moins de la moitié seulement des personnes vivant avec le VIH ont accès aux traitements antirétroviraux.
  • En France, on dénombre 150 000 personnes contaminées - dont près de 40 000 l’ignorent et continuent à propager l’épidémie - et 6 100 nouveaux cas chaque année.
  • D’autres stratégies de prévention existent (utilisation de préservatif, PreP : utilisation d’antirétroviraux en prophylaxie) cependant la communauté médico-scientifique s’accorde pour penser que seule une combinaison de ces stratégies avec un vaccin préventif permettra de contrôler l’évolution de l’épidémie d’infection par le VIH.

Qui peut participer à un essai de vaccin préventif contre le VIH ?

Les conditions qui permettent de participer à ces essais sont les suivantes:

  • Avoir entre 21 et 50 ans.
  • Ne pas être infecté par le VIH et à faible risque de contamination.
  • Être en bonne santé.
  • Utiliser une contraception efficace (préservatif) durant tout l'essai.
  • Ne pas être enceinte pendant l'essai et jusqu'à 4 mois après la dernière vaccination.
  • Habiter à proximité de l'un des centres participant à l'essai.
  • Être affilié ou bénéficiaire d'un régime de sécurité sociale.
  • Être disponible pendant la durée de l’essai.

Quels types d'essais cliniques de vaccin préventif contre le VIH sont actuellement conduits par le VRI ?

Les essais développés par le VRI sont actuellement des essais de phases I et II

La mise au point d’un vaccin nécessite, après l’expérimentation chez l’animal pour s’assurer de l’absence de toxicité de celui-ci, la mise en place de 3 phases successives

  • La phase I. A ce stade, les essais sont conduits avec un nombre limité de sujets sous strict contrôle médical. Le vaccin est testé sur une courte période. L'objectif est d'évaluer sa sécurité d'emploi, son devenir dans l'organisme, ainsi que les effets indésirables.
  • La phase II. Les essais sont conduits sur un plus grand nombre de sujets. Ces études sont le plus souvent comparatives : l'un des 2 groupes de volontaires reçoit le vaccin tandis que l'autre reçoit un placebo. Elles visent à obtenir des données de sécurité d’emploi sur un plus grand nombre de sujets et d’étudier l’immunogénicité (induction d’une réponse immunitaire adaptée) du vaccin. Actuellement ce sont généralement des combinaisons vaccinales impliquant plusieurs candidats vaccin qui sont testés dans ces phases II.
  • La phase III. Réalisés sur de larges populations de volontaires, les essais permettent de mesurer l'efficacité du vaccin à savoir son impact sur la survenue d’infections. Ces essais sont menés dans des populations dites à risque. Les candidats vaccin auparavant comparés à des placebo devront l’être demain à des stratégies ayant montré leur efficacité (PreP notamment).

Comment se déroule un essai de vaccin préventif contre le VIH ?

  • La durée de participation pour chaque volontaire varie en général entre 6 mois et 1 an à compter de son engagement. Les volontaires sont répartis par tirage au sort entre les différents groupes, correspondant aux différentes combinaisons vaccinales évaluées.
  • Un nombre de visites dépendant de la combinaison vaccinale est prévu pour chaque volontaire. Il faut compter en général entre 8 et 10 visites, chacune d’entre elles durant entre 1 et 3 heures.
  • La 1ère visite médicale (dite de pré-inclusion) se déroule 4 semaines avant le début des vaccinations. Elle comporte des questions sur la vie sexuelle des volontaires ainsi qu’un examen clinique complet et des examens biologiques (par prise de sang et prélèvement urinaire), pour s’assurer que chaque volontaire est en bonne santé et ne présente pas de risque important de contracter le virus de par ses pratiques sexuelles.
  • Des échantillons de sang, numérotés de façon anonyme, sont prélevés et congelés pour constituer une biothèque. Ils servent à vérifier certaines données biologiques et effectuer des tests complémentaires dans le cadre de l’essai. Ils peuvent également être utilisés, avec l’accord des volontaires, pour des recherches sur la conception de vaccins contre le VIH, le VHC et les maladies émergentes.
  • Les résultats globaux sont habituellement connus 6 mois après la fin de l’essai et sont communiqués aux volontaires dès leur connaissance.

  • L’engagement dans un essai vaccinal :
    Chaque volontaire peut interrompre à tout moment sa participation à un essai vaccinal anti-VIH, sans donner de raison. Les effectifs de chaque groupe de volontaires étant assez réduits dans les essais cliniques de phase I et II, leur retrait peut compromettre ou rendre très difficile l’interprétation des résultats de l’ensemble de l’essai. Mieux vaut donc ne pas s’engager si on pense ne pas pouvoir participer jusqu’au bout.

  • Une indemnisation est-elle prévue?
    Une indemnisation est en général prévue pour chaque visite effectuée visant à compenser le temps consacré à l’essai.

Comment sont gérés les problèmes de santé et de sécurité dans le cadre des essais cliniques ?

affiche avancer la recherche vih
Informations et inscription sur :
www.recherche-vaccinVIH.fr

Le VRI et l’ANRS prennent toutes les précautions pour garantir la santé, la sécurité et l’information des volontaires tout au long des essais vaccinaux

  • Il n’y a aucun risque d’être infecté par le virus du sida: seules des protéines ou morceaux de protéines fabriquées par synthèse sont utilisées dans les différents vaccins testés ; ces protéines ne peuvent en aucun cas entrainer une contamination par le VIH.
  • L’essai garantit une sécurité maximale en ayant obtenue toutes les autorisations réglementaires et l’aval des comités de protection des personnes.
  • Chaque volontaire est personnellement suivi/e par un médecin de l’essai (appelé médecin investigateur). Il peut être contacté à tout moment pour toute question concernant sa santé. Ses coordonnées ont été communiquées à chaque volontaire lors de sa visite de pré-inclusion au centre de vaccination
  • Comme pour la majorité des vaccinations, les vaccins testés peuvent provoquer de brèves réactions cutanées à l’endroit de l’injection (rougeur, gonflement, durcissement de la peau, démangeaison, douleur…) ou quelques signes généraux passagers (fièvre, fatigue, maux de tête, douleur musculaire et/ou articulaire…).

 

rondbleu fr