Home 

Private access

The VRI’s scientific strategic plan is organized in 6 integrated research programs and structured around common scientific, logistic and administrative cores to conduct researches aimed at developing an effective vaccine against HIV/AIDS, HCV and emerging infectious diseases. The objectives of the VRI are highly specific, measurable and achievable.

The overarching goal is the generation of novel Dendritic Cell (DC) based vaccine candidates in the field of preventive and therapeutic vaccines inducing potent neutralizing and non-neutralizing antibody responses and T cell responses (for therapeutic vaccines).

AN OPERATIONAL
APPROACH
 
   
 
Click to enlarge image  
 
  A COMPREHENSIVE AND INTEGRATED
APPROACH FOR VACCINE DEVELOPMENT
   
  schema2
  Click to enlarge image

 

 

MAJOR ACHIEVEMENTS

 

  1. the integration of a transdisciplinary approach from basic science in the field of immunology, virology, translational researches to the development of an innovative therapeutic and prophylactic clinical program. This program is based on an innovative clinical platform including clinical sites in France and in Dallas (Baylor Institute for Immunology Research), an immunomonitoring platform (Mondor Immunomonitoring Center) for the evaluation of vaccine elicited immune responses, and a Biostatistics and Bioinformatics core (U1219 ISPED Bordeaux). The clinical program includes a social and human science project for the evaluation of the social impact (dissemination, recruitment of volunteers, social media network) of HIV vaccines.

  2. the development of a discovery and innovative platform for better characterizing in vivo responses to our portfolio of candidate vaccines: Humanized mice models, integrated analysis of multiparametric mass spectrometry or CyTOF, in vivo imaging, or next-generation sequencing. Thanks to the transversal Biostatistics and Bioinformatics core, a systematic integrated analysis of data generated in preclinical and clinical studies are performed in order to identify correlates of protection or control of viral replication and to model vaccine strategies. Our long-term goal, besides the development of vaccine that will be tested in phase IIb clinical trials, is to model the mechanisms of vaccine response for saving resources, volunteers and for accelerating the clinical development of candidate vaccines. These tools will be instrumental for evaluation of other vaccines or investigational therapies.

  3. we have completed the preclinical evaluation and the selection of the best-in-class ex vivo DC vaccine that have been developed in a phase II therapeutic trial in 2015 (DALIA and ANRS VRI04 DALIA 2 trial to come) and Dendritic Cell-targeting fusion proteins, including the selection of HIV antigens, that will be manufactured in 2016-2017 for therapeutic and prophylactic HIV phase I/II clinical trials (VRI06 and VRI07 trials). Selection of a CMO vendor for bioproduction of these vaccines according to the good manufacturing practices (cGMP) was realized, enabling NHP toxicity testing before the initiation of a phase I clinical trial in 2018.

Home 

Accès privé

La stratégie scientifique du VRI est organisée en 6 programmes de recherche intégrés et structurés autour de plateformes communes scientifiques, logistiques et administratives afin de conduire des recherches ayant pour objectif de développer un vaccin efficace contre le VIH/SIDA et le VHC. Les objectifs du VRI sont très ciblés, mesurables et réalisables.

L'objectif principal est la production de candidats vaccins ciblant les cellules dendritiques (DC) dans le domaine des vaccins préventifs et thérapeutiques induisant des réponses efficaces en anticorps neutralisants et non neutralisants et des réponses cellulaires T (pour les vaccins thérapeutiques).

 

UNE APPROCHE
OPÉRATIONNELLE
 
   
 
Cliquez pour agrandir  
 
  UNE APPROCHE GLOBALE ET INTÉGRÉE
POUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT DES VACCINS
   
  schema2
  Cliquez pour agrandir

 

 

LES PRINCIPALES RÉALISATIONS

 

  1. l'intégration d'une approche transdisciplinaire des sciences fondamentales dans le domaine des recherches immunologiques, virologiques, translationnelles au développement d'un programme clinique thérapeutique et prophylactique innovant. Ce programme repose sur une plateforme clinique innovante qui comprend des sites cliniques en France et à Dallas (Baylor Institute for Immunology Research), une plateforme de suivi immunologique (le Centre de suivi immunologique de Mondor) pour l'évaluation des réponses immunitaires générées par le vaccin et un centre de biostatistique et de bioinformatique (U1219 ISPED Bordeaux). Le programme clinique intègre également un projet de sciences humaines et sociales pour l'évaluation des répercussions sociales (dissémination, recrutement de volontaires, réseaux sociaux) des vaccins contre le VIH.

  2. le développement d'une plateforme de découvertes et d'innovation pour mieux caractériser les réponses in vivo à notre portefeuille de candidats vaccins : modèles de souris humanisées, analyses intégrée de la spectrométrie de masse multiparamétrique ou CyTOF, imagerie in vivo ou séquençage de nouvelle génération. Grâce au centre transversal de biostatistique et de bioinformatique, une analyse intégrée systématique des données générées lors des études précliniques et cliniques est effectuée afin d'identifier les corrélats de protection ou le contrôle de la réplication virale et de proposer des modèles de stratégies vaccinales. Notre objectif à long terme, en plus du développement de vaccins testés lors d'essais cliniques de phase IIb, est de modéliser les mécanismes de la réponse vaccinale pour optimiser les ressources et pour accélérer le développement clinique de candidats vaccins. Ces outils seront décisifs pour l'évaluation d'autres vaccins ou de traitements expérimentaux.

  3. nous avons effectué l'évaluation préclinique et la sélection des meilleurs candidat vaccins de la classe des DC ex vivo testés lors d'un essai thérapeutique de phase II en 2015 (DALIA et essai ANRS VRI04 DALIA 2 à venir) et de la classe des protéines de fusion ciblant les cellules dendritiques qui seront fabriqués en 2016-2017 pour des essais cliniques de phase I/II thérapeutiques et prophylactiques portant sur le VIH (essais VRI06 et VRI07). La sélection d'une société de services de bioproduction de ces vaccins dans des conditions conformes aux bonnes pratiques de fabrication (cGMP) a été effectuée, permettant de tester la toxicité de ces deux vaccins sur des primates non humains avant de démarrer un essai clinique de phase I en 2018.